Sprouts

14 Jun

Today is the first day of “Deliciously Austin,” a blog devoted to experiencing food in every way possible – growing it, cooking it, ordering it, but, most importantly, eating it.

My name is Ashley, and I live in Austin, Texas, where I’m constantly experimenting with new recipes, eating at as many new restaurants as I can, and, now, growing a vegetable garden.

This weekend, I finally planted my first vegetable garden. I say “finally” because it’s taken about three months to prepare the beds to plant (including removing grass that was growing in that area). I looked at quite a few websites to find out how exactly to go about planting my garden. Hands down, the best resource I found was Texas A&M’s AriLife Extension website. They offer several page reports on how, where and when to grow just about everything that grows in Texas. Based on their advice, I’m planning my garden for the fall & spring.

This is my new oregano plant, which was planted this weekend with several other herbs and veggies.

Unfortunately, after I had done the recommend soil test, created the raised beds, etc, it was already pretty late in the season to plant much. If you’re trying to start a garden, now is not really the time to do it – I believe that March or April is more appropriate, but I’m doing what I can. The nice people at the Great Outdoors did point me in the right direction for the vegetables that I could grow during the hot Texas summer. For the moment, I’m experimenting with what they recommended – I now have a lemon plant, some tomatoes, several herbs and spices, squash, okra, strawberries and eggplant growing in my garden.

Since it’s the beginning of my garden, it seems fitting that it should also be the beginning of Deliciously Austin. I’ve been tossing around the idea for a while, but am just now getting up the nerve to post my first entry. I’m certainly not a food “expert,” but like many people, I love good food and I love to try new things with food. One of my favorite ways to learn about new recipes and ideas is to read other people’s blogs. That being the case, I thought it was about time that I too started sharing what I learned while cooking and eating.

I hope you enjoy reading and come back to see me soon. Happy eating!

3 Responses to “Sprouts”

  1. jessica June 15, 2010 at 5:01 am #

    Welcome to the blog world 🙂

  2. Dad June 16, 2010 at 3:55 am #

    Looks like a good start. I am alergic to eggplant so not too much of that if you don’t mind 🙂

Leave a Reply

