CSAs – Local, Fresh Veggies Every Week

28 Jun

One of my good friends introduced me to the concept of a CSA last summer, by giving me part of her share. For those of you who have no idea what I’m talking about (as I would not have a year ago), “CSA” stands for “Community-Supported Agriculture”. The basic idea is that individuals pay a set amount of money in exchange for a “share” in a farm – those individuals then get a portion of what is grown on the farm for a season. Members generally get a box (or bag) of vegetables every week based on what the farm has available that week.

This board tells me what types of vegetables I get each week

In many cases, a CSA will deliver a box of vegetables to their members every week or two (depending on what you sign up for). My CSA asks that I drive out to the farm to pick up my veggies every week, which I love because it gives me the chance to trade vegetables that I don’t like, for some that I do. Also, going out to the farm once a week is pleasant – meeting the people who work on the farm and seeing the vegetables growing makes me feel even better about what I’m eating.

There are tons of advantages to being a CSA member, so I’m just going to list out a few of my favorite:

–       I get enough vegetables for the week, and rarely have to buy veggies at the grocery store

–       All of the vegetables are organic, and locally grown

–       The CSA “assigns” me certain vegetables every week, which requires me to learn to cook vegetables that I would not otherwise have tried (see, for example, pattypan squash from a few weeks ago)

–      Eating local, in season vegetables helps me to know what I should be eating at various times during the year – and keeps me from eating vegetables that have been bread for shipping and potentially exposed to chemicals and who knows what else

–       The vegetables are fresh and flavorful

Some of the veggies on the farm stand at Green Gate Farms

I go to Green Gate Farms here in Austin, which is a pretty charming place – they grow vegetables, raise chickens for eggs (and for eating, I imagine), raise pigs, and have wildflower bouquets that are readily available at their farm stand.

On a typical week, my share is about two grocery bags of vegetables – most recently lots of squash, tomatoes, cucumbers, herbs, green beans and okra. I split my share with one of my friends which has turned out to be a great thing to do. We share recipes for the vegetables that we have that week and sharing our vegetables means that I don’t have as many to cook. I generally cook for just my boyfriend and myself so having the entire share to myself would be too much.

The biggest disadvantage I’ve found with being a CSA member is that at times, you end up with too many vegetables. Last week, for example, I didn’t have much time to cook so only a few of our vegetables were eaten. My methods for dealing with the occasionally overflowing CSA box are pretty simple:

–       Your friends probably love the idea of farm fresh vegetables – give them a few veggies (or give them your share for the week) when you feel like you have too many veggies

–       Make things that are simple – not everything has to be a labor intensive recipe – I frequently just cut up tomatoes with a little bit of vinegar and olive oil as an appetizer when I have too many

–       Make casseroles or other food that you can eat throughout the week  – that way you can eat your veggies every night, but not have to cook every night

–       I’ve heard that preserving certain vegetables is not difficult, though I haven’t tried it out yet

My CSA has worked out very well for me this year, and I’ll defiantly join again next season. I would recommend it to anyone who likes to cook and is looking to try out new recipes and vegetables that may be a little out of your comfort zone.

One Response to “CSAs – Local, Fresh Veggies Every Week”

  1. deliciouslyaustin March 8, 2012 at 5:05 am #

    I just saw that Green Gate farms actually linked to this post. So glad that you guys liked it. I’ll be CSAing again this spring! Already signed up 🙂

Leave a Reply

