Uchiko’s Sake Social

28 Jul

Uchi and the new Uchiko are generally in my price range only for a “very special occasion” dinner so I was THRILLED when I saw this little tweet from Uchiko:



Naturally, I was a little suspicious – what the owners of Uchiko consider a “deep discount” might differ from what I consider to be a “deep discount”, but I thought I would explore a little.

This little bottle of hot sake was enough for the two of us and only cost $3!

When I called, the very friendly host informed me that Sake (hot or cold) was $3 for a small bottle, and that the chef selects several dishes as the “sake social” dishes each night  – those dishes are discounted about 40% – 50% during Sake Social time. Sake Social is from 5:00 – 6:30 at the bar and the tables near the bar.

Now THAT I can handle!

I went with one of my girlfriends and we enjoyed quite a few dishes:

two alba­core tataki hot rocks

one komaki roll

Nigiri sushi (Sorry it's blurry, best I could do)

several pieces of nigiri

one ao saba

two bowls of miso soup

one small bottle of sake

My surprise favorite was the ao saba, described on the menu as “norwe­gian mack­erel, blue­foot mush­room, onion, juniper, huck­le­berry.” This was a cooked dish, beautifully presented, and it tasted fabulous. The fish was just a little crispy on the outside, and flaky and wonderful on the inside.

This was my favorite dish of the evening - and so pretty! The picture doesn't really do it justice.

Of course, the hot rocks were great too and lots of fun (though we did have a little mishap and almost got our first piece of fish stuck on the rock – don’t worry, we recovered quickly). Really, all of the food was amazing, service was excellent and, the best part – our total bill was around $50. Pretty good for a top-notch meal for two including alcohol. Not to mention that Uchiko is quickly becoming one of the “cool” places to eat in Austin (if you don’t think that it already makes the list.)

You can expect to find me at Uchiko for their sake social as often as I can get out of work in time to make it!

2 Responses to “Uchiko’s Sake Social”

  1. beckyinperu July 29, 2010 at 11:00 pm #

    Ashley, I just read your blog, all the way to the beginning, and it’s great! I can’t wait to get back home and try some of your recipes and restaurants out!

    • deliciouslyaustin July 29, 2010 at 11:34 pm #

      I’m so glad that you like it! Maybe we can do sake social together when you get back.

Leave a Reply

