Sautéed Okra with Bell Peppers

31 Jul

I hate okra. I really do. I didn’t grow up eating it and still haven’t gotten used to the slimy grossness of most okra dishes. In spite of this hatred, I’ve been trying to make okra dishes lately because my CSA seems to have had quite a bit of success with their okra crop this year and they keep giving me beautiful, fresh, big okra.

After trying several recipes that didn’t quite work out, I tried a variation on a very simple recipe that I found. It turns out that it was quite delicious and somehow, slime free.

3 tbsp butter

2 – 3 bell peppers, deseeded & deveined, sliced into bite-size pieces

1 hot pepper (not too hot) deseeded & deveined, sliced into small pieces

1 lb fresh okra, with tips and tops cut off

1 tsp ground ginger

1 tsp cumin

10 –15 coriander seeds (or a good sprinkle of ground coriander)

Melt the butter in a saucepan over low heat.

Put bell peppers and hot pepper into the butter, keep the heat pretty low.

Once the peppers have had a little time in the pan, put the okra and spices in.

Cover and keep over low heat for about 20 minutes.

Done!

So easy and yet, I actually liked this recipe (even though it was okra!). Unfortunately, my camera was dead when I made this meal, so there are no pictures, but this dish was actually very pretty and colorful too.

One Response to “Sautéed Okra with Bell Peppers”

  1. deliciouslyaustin August 2, 2010 at 4:56 am #

    My friend Mike saw this post and sent along this info (I’ll be trying this method next time I make okra!). Thanks Mike!
    “Okra a has been a staple food all my life because okra grows so well here. To de-slime okra, cut into small pieces with a sharp knife and para boil for 3 minutes. Remove from heat, drain and rinse with cool water or preferably an ice bath. Now the flash cooked okra makes great addition to soup and stews.”

Leave a Reply

